Transparent Spacer Pixle Transparent Spacer Pixle
VA Space Grant Logo
Red Pixel

New Investigator Program

Five faculty members from VSGC-member universities have received the New Investigator Program award of $10,000 each for the 2014-2015 cycle.  The New Investigator Program award is designed to strengthen Virginia's research infrastructure and to provide start-up funding for new faculty members who have yet to become established researchers. Geared to faculty who are conducting research directly aligned with NASA's mission, the program targets those who are in the first five years of their academic career. Faculty who submit a proposal must be qualified to serve as the principal investigator at their respective institutions. Proposals are reviewed by a panel of VSGC member university representatives and NASA experts.

Since 2009, a total of $230,000 has been awarded to 23 faculty members!

Recipients for the 2014-2015 program cycle are:

Dr. Gary Koenig
University of Virginia - Chemical Engineering
Hierarchical Three-Dimensional Electrodes for Lithium-Sulfur Batteries

Dr. Kareem A. Ahmed
Old Dominion University - Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Flame Extinction Physics-Based Reduced Order Model for Fuel Flexible Low-Emission Combustion

Dr. Andrey Chernikov
Old Dominion University - Computer Science
Towards Automatic Curved Element Mesh Generation

Dr. Mumtaz Qazilbash
College of William and Mary - Physics
High Temperature Superconductivity in the Iron-based Materials

Dr. Phoebe Dreux Chappell
Old Dominion University - Ocean, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
Using Molecular Bioassays to Assess Iron Limitation of Diatoms in the California Current System